Tags

, , ,


This Project Measures Up!

Barb Garrett said, “I just couldn’t take it any longer. Every time I needed a measuring cup, I was looking thru several drawers, pulling out baskets, looking under the fridge. And don’t even get me started on a 1/2 teaspoon. So, I decided that enough was enough. I created this behind-the-door storage system using chalk paint and paint sticks. Now I know where they are all the time!”

DIY Measure Cups 1 qc9yr521bd491785bc

DIY Measure Cups 2 4sqtq521bd4864ee1f DIY Measure Cups 3 ic4le521bd49e79328

Follow Barb Garrett’s steps to DYI.

1. Using Frog Tape, I taped off the edges of the door. Then, applied three coats of Black Chalkboard Paint.

2.  Measured and cut three lengths from heavy duty stirring sticks.

3. Next, “I placed my measuring cups and spoons where they needed to be, marked the holes, and pre-drilled for the hangers.  I also pre-drilled a hole on each end, where the wood strips would be screwed into the cabinet”.

“After the painted strips were attached to the back of the door, and the cups and spoons were added… I stepped back and admired my work. Some chalk marks the cup and spoon measurements”.

Thank You Barb Garrett – This is a great idea, totally functional and very doable.

